Cootehill scoops National Enterprise award

Cootehill scoops National Enterprise award

Cootehill has been named Ireland’s most enterprising towns with a population of fewer than 3,000 people at the Bank of Ireland Enterprising Town Awards in Tullamore on Wednesday, 15 November.

Published on: 17 Nov 2017

The East Cavan town was also named top town in Connacht-Ulster and finished runner up in the overall national category.

Cootehill Town Team was nominated for this prestigious national award by Local Enterprise Office, Cavan.

Cathaoirleach of Cavan County Council, Councillor Paddy McDonald praised the work of the Cootehill Town Team in promoting a spirit of collaboration and enterprise in Cootehill, and also singled out the efforts of the staff of Local Enterprise Office, Cavan and the Community and Enterprise staff at Cavan County Council in bringing the Town Teams initiative to fruition.

“The Town Teams have been a great initiative to community and enterprise development in the county, and the national recognition that Cootehill Town Team has received is proof that we are getting it right here in Cavan. I want to congratulate the members of the Cootehill Town Team for their energy and enthusiasm in winning this accolade.

Marcella Rudden, Head of Enterprise with Local Enterprise Office, Cavan said she was “delighted to commend and congratulate members of the Cootehill Town Team on their achievement in the Bank of Ireland Enterprising Town Awards”.  

“The accolades and awards they received last night in Tullamore exemplified a deeply embedded business and community entrepreneurial ethos, which was reflected so successfully in their hard work, drive and commitment to showcase their town,” said Ms Rudden.

Gerry McDonagh of Cootehill Town Team attributed their success to the positivity of the group. “We are a committed, very positive, forward-looking team, and negativity is left outside at our meetings,” said Mr McDonagh, who praised the work of Mary Ann Smith, Connie Whelan, Tom Farrell, Micheal McCarey and Vincent Reynolds in making presentations to the panel of judges.

“They presented Cootehill just as it is; as a truly enterprising town,” he added, further praising the school students of Cootehill, who formed a guard of honour to greet the judges on their arrival in September.

“We welcome everyone to visit our national enterprising town and encourage all businesses to take a look at what we produce in Cootehill. You will be surprised but not disappointed,” said Mr McDonagh.

The Bank of Ireland Enterprising Towns Competition aims to assist in the promotion of enterprise across the country by bringing business and community groups together to showcase to a panel of judges the spirit of enterprise in their local area.


Photo caption: Pictured at the Bank of Ireland Enterprising Town Awards in Tullamore on Wednesday, 15 November are (from left): Joann Hosey, Director of Bank of Ireland, Connaught & Ulster;  Vincent McCaul, Cootehill Town Team; Tommy Ryan, Chief Executive, Cavan County Council; Gerry McDonagh, Chairperson Cootehill Town Team; Sean Smith, Manager, BOI Cavan; Cllr Paddy McDonald, Cathaoirleach, Cavan County Council, Tom Farrell, Cootehill Town Team; Gerry McIntyre, Cootehill Town Team; Marcella Rudden, Head of Enterprise LEO Cavan; Paul Clarke, Cootehill Town Team. PHOTO: Jeff Harvey.