Minutes of Meeting of Cavan Local Community Development Committee

Date: 7th October 2022

<u> Time: 11.30am</u>

Location: Online via Microsoft Teams & Cavan Crystal Hotel

Present:

Statutory

Mr. Brendan Jennings (Cavan County Council, Chairperson, Cllr Clifford Kelly (Elected Member), Dr Fiona McGrath (CMETB), Ms Carmel Denning (Department of Social Protection).

Private Sector Interests

Mr Jim Maguire (Cavan County Local Development Company), Ms Connie Whelan (Cootehill Chamber), Ms Maryam Temile (Women's Interests), Ms Aisling Traynor (Youth Issues). Ms Catherine McCollum (Farming Interests)

Apologies:

Cllr T.P. O'Reilly (Elected Member), Cllr Aiden Fitzpatrick (Elected Member), Mr Tirloch O'Brien (Environmental Interests), Mr Charlie Smyth (Social Inclusion Interests), Ms Marcella Rudden (Local Enterprise Office), Ms Marissa Goldstone (Older People's Interest), Ms Bridget Boyle (Community & Voluntary Interests),

In attendance:

Mr John Donohoe (Chief Officer), Mr Terry Hyland (CEO, Cavan County Local Development), Ms Deirdre Donnelly (Cavan County Council), Ms Siobhan Morgan (Cavan County Council),

The Chair (Mr Brendan Jennings) opened the meeting and read out the apologies. He also welcomed the two new LCDC members Ms Maryam Temile and Ms Aisling Traynor.

1. Minutes of previous meeting

Minutes were proposed by Cllr Clifford Kelly and seconded by Ms Connie Whelan.

2. Matters arising

There were no matters arising from the minutes.

3. Conflicts of Interest

The Chair reminded members of their conflict of interest's responsibilities.

4. New LECP Update.

Chief Officer, Mr John Donohoe informed members that the LECP Advisory Group is now established, it is made up of LCDC members and Economic SPC members. Cllr John Paul Feely is the chairperson of the group. The new LECP will be in place in 2023. The Chief Officer outlined the process involved in preparing the LECP, firstly Cavan County Council carried out an in-house review of the last LECP, which is now complete. The second element was to look at the socio-economic situation in the county. Census data is out of date which makes it difficult but based on other data, it has been collated and will be given to the consultants. The last element was to engage consultants to draft the new LECP. Procurement has taken place and KPMG/ Future Analytics have been appointed. It is expected to have a new LECP for adoption by Easter 2023. The Chief Officer stated that there will be a lot of consultations involved, at least one public consultation in each municipal district, workshop for LCDC members, workshop for elected members and one for senior management. It is planned to combine the public consultation for PEACEPLUS and LECP, he stated that this is a very important document which will guide our programme of work for the next 5-6 years. The Chair stated that it was important that we get input from all sources for this document.

5. PEACEPLUS

The Chief Officer informed members that the PEACEPLUS partnership is established and that their first meeting took place on August 31st. The membership is made up between social partners and elected representatives and statutory representatives. He wished to thank the people who put themselves forward and stated that the first action of the partnership would be a capacity building trip with Derry/Strabane partnership. The main aim will be to prepare a

²

new peace plus programme for Cavan. The Chair stated that there would be potential for investment into the county over the next number of years.

6. SICAP Review

Mr Terry Hyland spoke to members about how CCLD have responded to the Ukrainian Emergency in Cavan. They have made a video which is a case study under the SICAP programme. It gives a sense of the work that has been undertaken under the programme. The 11-minute video was then played for members. He then spoke of the issues facing Ukraine Nationals for example transport, employment and access to regular services. He thanked all the agencies across the county for the great teamwork. The Chair congratulated Mr Hyland, Hazel Leady and the CCLD team on the excellent work done.

7. Approval of SICAP Service Providers/Sub-contractors

Mr Terry Hyland provided details of Service Providers and Subcontractors engaged by SICAP. The List was proposed by Ms Connie Whelan and seconded by Cllr. Clifford Kelly.

8. Election of members to the SICAP Monitoring Committee

Cllr Clifford Kelly and Ms Maryam Temile were nominated to SICAP Monitoring Committee.

This was proposed by Mr. Jim Maguire and seconded by Ms Connie Whelan.

9. AOB

The Chief Officer gave an update on Healthy Ireland. Healthy Ireland is a subcommittee of the LCDC. In relation to round 3, correspondence was received from Pobal who undertook a review of return. Pobal gave very positive feedback and have asked Cavan to share some examples around physical activity initiatives with other areas.

The next round of Healthy Ireland funding has been announced. It will run from 2023-2025 starting on 1st January 2023. The allocation for each county was \in 40,000, however there was a recent meeting and funding was increased to \in 75,000. This is in addition to the funding for Healthy Ireland co-ordinator. A new co-ordinator, Mr Steven Ormbsy, is commencing employment with Cavan County Council next week. His first action will be to work on an application form for the funding and on preparing a local strategy for a deadline of the 9th December 2022.

Cavan is also one of 14 pilot areas for Slaintecare Healthy Communities. It is targeted at areas that are suffering from deprivation. In Cavan that is the entire Cavan town area, Baileborough, Cootehill, Ballyjamesduff and Belturbet. There is a budget of \notin 75,000, however Cavan County Council got an initial allocation of seed funding of \notin 250,000 and it divided between the areas and have led to projects like Ballyjamesduff Playground, Cootehill Playground, Baileborough Adult equipment, Con Smith Park in Cavan. Official launch will take place soon with the Minister coming to Cavan.

Date of next meeting

Next meeting will be determined in due course.

Signed:

Date: 11th November 2022

Chairman