Cathaoirleach’s Awards 2024

The Cathaoirleach’s Awards celebrate the work of volunteers who make a difference to their communities because of their hard work, dedication, and vision. The awards are testament to the value that Cavan County Council places on those volunteers and the importance of their work within the community.

The six categories this year are:

  • Community
  • Contribution to Local Heritage and Biodiversity
  • Contribution to the Arts
  • Older People (55+)
  • Social Inclusion
  • Sports

Come along and celebrate with the volunteers and groups who have been nominated for an award at a reception in Cavan Crystal Hotel, Dublin Road, Cavan on Thursday, 4th April at 8pm.

Music will be provided by MONO. Tickets cost €25 – to book, call the Cavan County Council Community and Enterprise Department on 049 437 8588. Please note that there is a limit on the number of tickets available.

Le Chéile Management Committee (Multiple nominations)Le Chéile Management CommitteeSocial Inclusion
Cavan County Board by Gerard TormeyCavan County BoardSocial Inclusion
Hugh O'Brien by Connie WhelanDrumlin HouseSocial Inclusion
Laura Skelly by Gaetane CullenJumping JellybeansSocial Inclusion
Lisa Hogan by Gerry McDonaghCootehill Youth ClubSocial Inclusion
Ballyjamesduff Christmas Swim Committee by Ballyjamesduff Community CouncilBallyjamesduff Christmas SwimSocial Inclusion
Stanley Nwaneri (Multiple nominations)4Cs - Cavan Cross Cultural CommunitySocial Inclusion
Bailieborough Creative Hub by Sally-Ann DuffyBailieborough Creative HubContribution to the Arts
The Frolics by Ballyjamesduff Community CouncilBallyjamesduff Musical SocietyContribution to the Arts
Gearóid Teevan (Multiple nominations)Healing Spirit FestivalContribution to the Arts
Martin Donohoe by Bernie Mulfaul O'ReillyNYAHContribution to the Arts
Maureen Crosson by Roseabbey McGorryThe Gallonray BandContribution to the Arts
Carol Smyth by Elizabeth McEvoyShercock Tidy TownsContribution to Local Heritage & Biodiversity
Friends of Castle Lake and Catchment by Colette GemmellFriends of Castle Lake and CatchmentContribution to Local Heritage & Biodiversity
Aidan McCabe by Roseabbey McGorryGallonray House CommitteeCommunity
Ballintemple Variety Troupe by Ballinagh Community EnterpriseBallintemple Variety TroupeCommunity
Helen Smith by Susan DohertyBallyjamesduff Community CouncilCommunity
Peadar Mohan by Elizabeth McEvoyShercock Killann HallCommunity
Roisin Owens by Christine WynneSOSADCommunity
Sean McInerney by Ballyjamesduff Community CouncilBallyjamesduff Community CouncilCommunity
Sridevi Balan by Swati MaliThe Culture WheelCommunity
Arva GFC (Multiple nominations)Arva GFCSports
Cavan GAA Health & Wellness Committee by Gerard TormeyCavan GAASports
Finn Sherlock by Donna EnglishSt. Aidan's ComprehensiveSports
John Whelan by Michael FitzpatrickThe Cavan KayakarunSports
Michael Reilly by Michael FitzpatrickThe Cavan KayakarunSports
Margaret Hughes by Pauline O'ReillyDroim Dhúin Éire ÓgSports
Cavan Ladies U16 Team by Sinead ReillyCavan Ladies GAASports
Bernard Mullen by Gerry McDonaghCootehill TownOlder People (55+)
Ciaran Weir by Ronan WardGallant Challenge (in aid of St. Christopher's Hospice) Older People (55+)
The Wednesday Club by Tara KaldanisThe Wednesday ClubOlder People (55+)